Author Topic: Intro and questions, if I may  (Read 7661 times)

Offline ksouers

• Missouri, USA
Intro and questions, if I may
« on: February 01, 2012, 05:26:31 am »
Hello everyone.
I’ve been lurking around for about a week and decided to join your friendly little group. I have a question or two, but first I’d like to introduce myself.

My name is Kevin. I’ve been using solar on my sailboat for many years. I have settled on a single panel set up that works quite well for me. I’m also interested in wind power and I’ve lurked on the “other” site off and on for quite some time (years). When I was much younger, in the 70’s and 80’s, I had dreams of living off-grid with only wind power and passive solar for my basic needs. As in many things in life, that dream never fully developed.

I’m older now and preparing for retirement, though that is still many years away. I’ve starting taking some of my energy needs off-grid a portion at a time, starting with the garage and my hobby machine shop. I’m starting with what I’m familiar with, solar, and I’ll eventually add a small (micro?) wind turbine or two. I have a terrible site for wind power; the lot is on a hillside surrounded by lots of mature trees and tract houses. Small wind is about the only way I can go, and summer here usually means NO wind at all (except for the twisty ones). I’ll be satisfied with a few hundred watt/hours or so a month from a small turbine. I have no illusions about taking the house completely off-grid. Just the satisfaction of knowing at least my hobbies are completely independent of the utility companies is enough for me. Perhaps later I can find a halfway decent wind site to retire on.

Now on to the questions: