Author Topic: 8 KW LF Pure Sine Wave Inverter 24 to 240 Shut down Issue  (Read 7736 times)

Offline Lachlan

8 KW LF Pure Sine Wave Inverter 24 to 240 Shut down Issue
« on: October 09, 2015, 03:11:08 am »
I build my own house and went off grid - solar only. I am not so clever on the electrical front but decided to be brave and have a go. Bought my own panels 16 * 250 w @ 24 v - batteries lead acid with about 600 ah rating and the power jack. Actually had three inverter's now. One to  build the house (not pure sine wave), one that blew up within 5 minutes (was a dud) and the current 8 KW model which has been a champ......so far

I have been running the inverter for about 9 months (started in middle of summer) - sweet as - runs the house well - vacuum cleaners, kettles, washing machines.  Everything works well and power during the winter was not a problem. Had to ration power on the really cloudy days (i.e. no electric kettle) but no hassles. So now the summer is here and lots of sun but.........

Last week for the first time my inverter tripped off. I had just topped up the batteries (lead acid 600 AH @ 24V) - nothing unusual. So it tripped and the warning it gave was over voltage - that is about 1 minutes of beeps followed by shut down and continuous beep but green light on.
Checked voltage and was sitting at 27.5 as it had been. However decided to turn the solar controllers down to 27 to be safe. Turned back on - ran fine for about an hour then same thing again. By now it is getting to later in the day. Called a mate and we had a discussion on it all and decided to drop it to 26.9 and try again. Worked fine and ran all through the night. Yay!!

About midday the next day same thing. Turned it off and gave it a "rest" and put it back on again in the afternoon. Again it worked all through the night and into the next day till about mid day. Shut down time again. This has been the cycle for a couple of days now.