Author Topic: Solar Water Transfer Pump  (Read 4641 times)

Offline OTG

Solar Water Transfer Pump
« on: August 17, 2018, 11:05:16 pm »
I need to transfer bore water (from a tank) over some distance (up-to 600m) and height (30 to 60m Total Dynamic Head), depending which other tank/watering points I send the water to.

The pumping rate/flow isn't of great concern, but I do want as reliable a pump as possible and it needs to be DC/Solar. I've found the below two examples which seem to meet my needs.

Sorry, my links got a "CleanTalk ***Forbidden. Contains Contacts" error when posting - search for either of these numbers on aliexpress.com instead:

Just wondering what others think:
  • Which is likely to be more reliable in the long run - a Jet Pump or a Multistage pump (I'm no expert on the merits of the different type of pumps - I don't think a straight-up single impeller Centrifugal will handle this head, or at least I've not found one that can)?
  • Anybody out there with experiences or advice they can share reagarding DC/Solar transfer pumps?
  • Any personal recommendations for one pump or another (on my list or otherwise)?

Thanks Y'all!

Offline rossw

• Senior Moderator
  • Grumpy-old-Unix-Admin
Re: Solar Water Transfer Pump
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2018, 04:58:34 am »
OK, from my experience....

DON'T even consider any pump that uses a brushed DC motor. Even very expensive, name-brand ones like shurflo.

I WOULD NOT ever consider a positive-displacement pump again. They have all sorts of on-paper benefits, but reliability and maintenance are not there in the long term.

I ended up ditching the DC pump and using an inverter + AC induction motor multistage bore pump. Not only was it cheaper, but it was better made, has basically no wearing parts (brushes etc), moves more water, operates at a higher efficiency and has given faultless operation in identical conditions, so far for 4 times longer than the DC pump, but who knows how much longer.

Offline oztules