Author Topic: new mill up and flying  (Read 10005 times)

Offline Dave

• No Personal Text Set by User
Re: new mill up and flying
« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2012, 12:40:32 pm »
Robin,
Thanks for that added info. This is a great project, way beyond my abilities but a thrill to read about your adventures with a few bits making some sense..still a lot going over my head.

That's 'another' benefit I find in the forums .. the experience of other peoples
great projects prodding me to investagate things I have very little knowledge of.

I have got to get involved in the micro controller world  :-[

Is that your weather data too? (on the other graph pages) Nice set up! And more feelings of "I wish I could do that" ...Ouch, more stick poking  ;)

Shawn,
Thanks for the Pics of the slip ring setup and spindle..looking good!

Cheers, Dave
KB1MZF

Offline shawn

« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2012, 11:17:17 pm »
yes here you go Oztules

Offline oztules

• Forum Advisors
  • Village idiot
« Reply #17 on: March 08, 2012, 01:26:30 am »
Thanks Shawn..... ( almost teary eyed seeing a chainsaw half way up a blade)

Nice work, looks like you have gone for lots of torque.... hope the alt is up to it.

My first set were a bit more dainty and faster (less cord, and less pitch), but my second set look similar to yours..... slower and more torque.

I cant imagine doing 4 meter blades any other way.

I have seen the slower blades pulling 60 amps@58v into batteries..... but that was not meant to happen ;D I don't let them do that now... (testing is fun but I don't think the stator was so amused).

Nice job..............oztules
Flinders Island...... Australia

Offline shawn

« Reply #18 on: March 08, 2012, 02:41:03 am »
yes the way to go when building blades!! :)
With the torque into my alt ermmm not sure you might know better :-[
the neos are 15mm thick / 50mm discs N52 x 24
the coils are 42 turns of 1.6mm wire two in hand x 9 star wired
magnet gap of 20mm
cutin at 25 volt DC @ 130 rpm