Author Topic: Suitable Turbine for Really Bad Climates  (Read 9493 times)

Offline domajo

Suitable Turbine for Really Bad Climates
« on: November 05, 2012, 03:07:22 pm »
Hey,

I have never posted here so a brief intro is in order. I am a Mechanical Engineer who has sort of lurked around this forum and others for a while. I am an apartment dweller in Philadelphia PA but I grew up in the middle of nowhere in Idaho. I never thought I would be able to build a small turbine but have the opportunity to work on utility scale wind power design at work which I love.

My brother who sort of randomly bought a pig farm in the Philippines about 10 years called me the other day. The farm is growing a lot and they are starting to stress the local power grid and run up some serious power bills (local power is $.25 per kwhr), relative to the productivity of the farm (he doesn't make anything on the farm). Most of this power is pumping which is required to wash pigs and provide for the locals during droughts. Of course I was glad to be helpful and pushed him towards the Hugh Piggot design which could be made locally (inexpensively) and might "Catch On" if we could teach his workers to make it.

A brief survey of wind averages showed wind in that area was at least Class 6 (Awesome!). This lead me to think about extreme winds, so I looked it up, the highest winds in the Philippines were recorder just 6 years ago, a whopping 320 km/h (198 mph)(DOH!), it was pretty far away (about 500 miles) though. Additionally, this area seems to get alot of hardcore tropical weather.

My understanding of the Piggot design is that it pretty tankish and could probably take the heat if the furling was working correctly, and the blades were done correctly. It doesn't pump water directly, which would be very nice. The tower might be a problem but we might be able to double up on the guy wires.