Author Topic: No brand/5500W inverter disaster porn  (Read 1736 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline noneyabussiness

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • I think it works....
Re: No brand/5500W inverter disaster porn
« Reply #75 on: August 13, 2021, 05:42:15 pm »
ok, removing the 393 does NOT remove over current control,  it gives it BACK to the eg8010 chip... the 393 was causing problems with blowing mosfets in oztules inverter ( and others including mine ).  it was as oz explained fighting the eg8010 current control ( which works perfectly fine) as it would " trip " in a instant and re-enable too fast, which with a tight toroidal transformer means certain death for primary mosfets as it introduces a non-constant waveform..  why he ended up building his own board to start with.

the eg8010's current control is VERY good, shuts down smoothly and never caused issues,  again with oztules and others ( including mine), as it takes its sample from the negative DC side there should be no " earthing " issues like the VFB side ( as that is sampled from the AC side) .. oztules thread on these boards is a treasure trove of information that is worth the read if you are interested, he explains things so much better..

Offline lighthunter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
  • Karma: +11/-0
Re: No brand/5500W inverter disaster porn
« Reply #76 on: August 13, 2021, 07:18:07 pm »
"ok, removing the 393 does NOT remove over current control,  it gives it BACK to the eg8010 chip... the 393 was causing problems"

Correct, i knew that and wrote it wrong.  Thanks for the correction.

As for isolation, my HV arrays are both ungrounded but to troubleshoot this i tried grounding both of them neg to earth. Didnt help. The battery + and - are floating not earthed but they are connected to a low V array which could act like an antenna. Ive no idea. I know it is an isolation problem but was not able to resolve in any way. So removing pin one helped me out. The only reason i  refered to the removal of the 393 is because deleting pin one of egs002 will solve that problem too but you would loose current shutdown wheras removing 393 doesnt. For some of us old fellers messing with surface mount stuff and ending up with a working board is quite a challenge.



Health Warning: May contain traces of nut!
LH

Offline Pete

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: +19/-1
  • Mount Barrow Tasmania
Re: No brand/5500W inverter disaster porn
« Reply #77 on: August 13, 2021, 09:36:36 pm »
Hi LH, I get what you are saying about surface mount boards. I have take two of the 393 chips off my 8010 boards, In the end I used a sharp knife and prised one leg of the chip off at a time while heating it with the soldering iron.
I tried first using solder braid but that did not take enough off to allow the chip to lift easily.
So reverted to mechanical force and heat.
So far the inverter I accidentally blew up is working now. The only odd thing is that to get the relay to pull in I have to short pins 1 and 2 of the op amp, then once the relay comes in all is good. I can turn off and it will start fine as long as I haven't disconnected the battery supply.
So I will run it for a while and see if it keeps behaving.
Pete

Offline noneyabussiness

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • I think it works....
Re: No brand/5500W inverter disaster porn
« Reply #78 on: August 13, 2021, 11:04:01 pm »
another good way is using a  Stanley blade , cut hard against the 393 chip body,  both sides so actual chip falls away... then just use a blob of solder to remove " legs " ...

Offline Pete

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: +19/-1
  • Mount Barrow Tasmania
Re: No brand/5500W inverter disaster porn
« Reply #79 on: September 04, 2021, 02:04:32 am »
I have two of those Aliexpress type 8010 boards now. I used two transformers that came from an 8kw powerjack. One for each inverter.
Just wondering I have read that it is really important to get the right size inductor for the transformer to prevent blowups.
Both the transformers I have, used a torroidal core with a couple of turns of the primary winding around them as inductors.
Have any of you people who have used these boards had experience with inductors and do you know if the PowerJack ones are OK to use.
So far the inverters appear to be working fine, nice sinewave but I have not tried any massive loads on them yet.
I wanted to know that there is a fair chance that they won't blow up before I went for the full load tests.
Pete

Offline noneyabussiness

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • I think it works....
Re: No brand/5500W inverter disaster porn
« Reply #80 on: September 04, 2021, 06:53:42 pm »
reading Oztules thread, the pj ones were fine... however Warpspeed has improved on em dramatically by other peoples experience...

Offline Pete

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: +19/-1
  • Mount Barrow Tasmania
Re: No brand/5500W inverter disaster porn
« Reply #81 on: September 04, 2021, 09:35:01 pm »
Thanks Noneya, will read up on Warps inductors
Pete

Offline solarnewbee

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • Cayenne Dashboard
Re: No brand/5500W inverter disaster porn
« Reply #82 on: October 25, 2021, 06:50:54 am »
Recently installed A Sunyima labeled 8010 based unit with lcd that allows settings from a menu if you get there fast enough before the screen whites out. 2 trim pots on the board without a clue what they’re for. Definitely not for voltage out. I connected this to my old 15kW 30v transformer and got 201v. I was able to raise that to 227v to match the grid thru on screen menu so no voltage surge or drop when switching ATS.

This same transformer on the PJ boards was a lot louder. This thing is really quiet. Seller was useless but did gave a hookup diagram in the ad.

You’ll notice on the board right side there are 3 connectors, one has a plug with 2 wires and they are tied to voltage output from transformer. Without that feedback it goes into error. Next connector up has .47vdc maybe 4.47vdc can’t remember at the moment . Hoping it’s a standby power connector. Further up is a 12vdc connector and assuming it’s for a cooling fan.

And a pic of a an SSR ATS that works! My PJ didn’t like and blew up but probably was my bad coding. This has been re-wired right to left with the theory that zero cross may block the triacs from being forced open?

SN

Any day above ground is a day for potential mishaps

Offline solarnewbee

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • Cayenne Dashboard
Re: No brand/5500W inverter disaster porn
« Reply #83 on: October 25, 2021, 10:00:57 pm »
It occurred to me suddenly to check the hertz rate,(slapping forehead rapidly) and of course it’s 50hz not 60 and I’ve no idea how to change that. What’s going to fry in the house if anything. Some things just adapt others just doesn’t matter but I’m not well versed in hertz. My Sony tv is versatile in that sense but my fridge is 120vac 60hz on a step down xfmr. The pots have no effect. Any hints? I have read this thread but must have missed it or need to read a different thread.

If I hadn’t mentioned before, I left the high voltage AC board in place to allow it to filter and make use of the lcd’s on the front panel. I took a 12vdc wall adapter and attached to the ribbons cable to power the lcd’s and voila! All the info I need according to PJ algorithms.
SN

Any day above ground is a day for potential mishaps

Offline solarnewbee

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • Cayenne Dashboard
Re: No brand/5500W inverter disaster porn
« Reply #84 on: October 25, 2021, 10:43:08 pm »
So I found the answer thru Pete and Aliexpress. It’s jp1-60hz jp5-50hz

Thanks Pete!
SN

Any day above ground is a day for potential mishaps