Author Topic: Acupuncture for ailing NiCad paks  (Read 4664 times)

Offline Norm

• Today is the day you worried about yesterday.
Acupuncture for ailing NiCad paks
« on: May 24, 2012, 04:30:44 pm »
This is probably more for complete newbies on NiCads,
even those are probably aware of zapping NiCads in a group
but there is a better way....why zap the whole bunch when there is
maybe only one in a half dozen that needs to be zapped....also if
you can check each individual cell before they get too bad there is
hope that you can prolong the life of the whole bunch so here is what I
do ....checking each stack of this 12-13.7 NiCac pack ....most of them
were reading 6.50  a couple were only reading like 5.80  so I use small
brads for probes  and check each cell and find.....
1185-0
and like aha this one only reads .95......so I zap it just a couple of quick
touches with 12 volt battery charger clamps and we're back in business
after a slow charge to balance them all out.
Norm.

Offline bj

• Lamont, Alberta, Canada
Re: Acupuncture for ailing NiCad paks
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2012, 05:00:59 pm »
   Have to admit Norm, I didn't know you could get away with that.  So, if I might ask, what's your
definition of a short zap?  I am assuming that too long a zap is not better.
   Thanks in advance
"Even a blind squirrel will find an acorn once in a while"
bj

Offline Wolvenar

• Senior Moderator
  • Mr. Murphys pawn
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2012, 05:22:37 pm »
I had done this many years back on NiCad.
I really didn't know that this was a tried and true method to recover anything though.
I thought I just got lucky
Trying to make power from alternative energy any which way I can.
Just to abuse what I make. (and run this site)

Offline Norm

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2012, 08:22:22 pm »
   Have to admit Norm, I didn't know you could get away with that.  So, if I might ask, what's your
definition of a short zap?  I am assuming that too long a zap is not better.
   Thanks in advance