Author Topic: Heavily modified Power Jack  (Read 5201 times)

Offline noneyabussiness

• I think it works....
Re: Heavily modified Power Jack
« Reply #15 on: June 19, 2016, 03:54:29 pm »
Morning,  your missing this library. .

http://www.opensourceautomation.com/wiki/index.php?title=Example_Project_Using_OSA_With_Arduino

Delete or comment out the line converting celcius to Fahrenheit. .

If u get stuck just let me know, im not an expert but ill try and help as best i can..

I used a thermistor as i have a gazillion of them and they are common..

Offline noneyabussiness

• I think it works....
« Reply #16 on: June 19, 2016, 04:03:47 pm »
Heres a pic on how i installed thermistors... piece of copper folded with thermal paste inside, put a .1 uf cap across it, helps stabilize readings.. according to all the temp gauges ive used its within about a degree which is fine for this application. .

Offline Pete

• Mount Barrow Tasmania
« Reply #17 on: June 19, 2016, 11:59:19 pm »
Hi Noneeyabusiness, just wondering why  you have gone to so much trouble with an arduino based fan controller. I recently purchased some thermostat controllers from Ebay, that only cost around $4 each. Seems to me that you may be over complicating things.
Maybe the mosfets blowing up has to do with the amount of stored energy in the transformer core. We used to do high voltage tests on windings of motors and we had to be careful to discharge them before working on them. They stored a great big whack of energy after having a 2500 volt megger connected to them.
anyway seems like you have that part sorted.
There are heaps of temperature controllers on Ebay ranging from a couple of dollars up
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/50-110-C-Heat-Cool-Temp-Thermostat-Temperature-Control-Switch-Controller-/182082927088?hash=item2a64fcf9f0:g:GwkAAOSwjwlXBN-I

Offline Dr_Zogg

« Reply #18 on: June 20, 2016, 01:05:17 am »